Kurunegala District

Kurunegala is a district in North Western Province, Sri Lanka. Consists of 4812.7 km2 48,1270 Hectares and Consists 30 Divisional Secretariats, 1610 Grama Niladari Divisions and 4476 total Villages. It consists of 14 Electorate Divisions, 02 Municipal Council, 19 Urban Councils, 15 Parliamentary Ministers, 47 Provincial Council Members, 15 Ministers and 337 Local Council Members.

Considering Geographical Situation of the Kurunegala District, it has been bounded by five Districts. From the North by Anuradhapura District, East by Mathale District, South By Gampaha and Kegalle District and from West by Puttlam District. Longitude location of the District is north Latitude 228- 333 and East Latitude 104-178.

Kurunegala has very special historical background among other Districts. That is it consists of four ancient kingdoms namely Panduwasnuwara, Kurunegala, Yapahuwa and Dambadeniya.

As a percentage of Total population of Sri Lanka, Kurunegala District has 7.3% of the population. According to the census data, the estimated population of Kurunegala in the year 2001 was 1.4 Million. Majority of Kurunegala District's residents belong to the Sinhalese majority. Other ethnic minorities include the Sri Lankan Moors, Sri Lankan Tamils, Burghers and Malays. Residents from ethnic minorities live in all parts of the District.

【Text by Lakpura™. Images by Google, copyright(s) reserved by original authors.】

Explore Kurunegala District